Pitch Wars 2017: #PimpMyBio – Dark and Fractured Seas – YA #ownvoices Fantasy

#PimpMyBio is an optional blog hop hosted by Lana Pattinson. You can learn more here. If you’re going to be participating in #PitchWars and want to do your own #PimpMyBio you can read about it here.

#PimpMyBio 2017

 

Hello!

 

 

About My Book

DARK AND FRACTURED SEAS

Young Adult Fantasy

 

Seventeen-year-old bisexual sea captain, Aiyanna, has spent the better part of her life building a reputation as the Southern Isles’ most notorious bounty hunter. She rules the seas with her mighty ship and steel as sharp as her temper.

When Bristol, the girl she secretly loves, falls ill, Aiyanna strikes a bargain with the Rexes–wielders of powerful magic–against Bristol’s wishes. She must return their missing brother, Milo, in exchange for a cure. Believing Bristol will forgive her once she saves her life, Aiyanna and her crew set out to capture him. But Milo refuses to come quietly.

 


Basically, it’s a Young Adult Fantasy about a bad-ass bounty hunter on a mission to save the girl she loves, who coincidentally, has no idea of her feelings. There are pirate ships and giant skywolf fights, court intrigue and a kiss or two… It all comes down to Aiyanna and whether she will confront the chaos in her own heart or risk losing herself to dark and fractured seas.

I am pitching it as Avatar: The Last Airbender meets Pirates of the Caribbean. For fans of Susan Dennard’d TRUTHWITCH and Elly Blake’s FROSTBLOOD series.

I wrote DAFS last year, it got a few requests when I queried it, but ultimately it didn’t land me an agent. Since then, I have written 3 more novels, and revised and re-titled DAFS. I’m hoping that a mentor will help me take it that step closer to being everything that it could be, and I’m so excited to start work on it again.

AND! Here is a Novel Aesthetics collage that I put together:

 

About Me

This year I’ll be entering #Pitchwars for the very first time (I know, shocking). I queried it selectively in 2016, shelved it and have now revised it and re-titled it. My name is Dannielle Wicks, I live in a country town in Queensland, Australia, and I have a couple of books published by a small press in the USA. I feel that #Pitchwars will help me level up and I can’t wait to meet you all. Revising is my absolute favourite part of novel writing–I love pulling something apart and stitching it back up into a story that is worthy.

During the day I spend my time fixing computers for our local government. I’ve been working in IT for nearly 6 years now, and LOVE it. In my off hours I like to ponder cars and gardening, all while spending time with my adorable pups. From the age of eleven, I raced a speedway sedan in the dirt track circuit here in southern QLD. I was sorted into Gryffindor, which feels weird, because I don’t usually see myself as brave or daring. But the Sorting Hat knows best 🙂

I identify as a bi and hope to one day write and read about many characters that reflect my identity and those of the diverse community.

My Favourite Things

  • Books
    • A Star-Touched Queen
    • Shadow and Bone
    • A Court of Wings and Ruin
    • Wintersong
    • Our Dark Duet
    • The Shadow Queen
    • A Torch Against the Night
    • The Scarecrow King
    • The Cold King
    • The Princess’s Dragon
    • Easy
    • The Assassin’s Curse
    • Touch
  • Movies
    • How to Train Your Dragon
    • Crimson Peak (I know, weird… I’m super scared of ghosts, so this one surprised me)
    • Wonder Woman, of course
    • Moana
    • The Lego Batman Movie
    • Pacific Rim
    • The Space Between Us
    • All of the old RomComs, like Pretty Woman and Sleepless in Seattle. (I’m only 24, so… they are a little older to me)
  • TV Shows
    • Avatar: The Last Airbender
    • Noragami (anime)
    • Bleach (anime)
    • Beyond the Boundary (yep, another anime)
    • Lucifer
    • Jonathon Strange and Mr. Norrell
    • Into the Badlands
    • Misfits
    • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend (Netflix)
    • BBC’s Sherlock
    • Supernatural

That’s all! I think we’ve efficiently established the twisted, eclectic essence of me. Leave me a comment, or find me on Twitter! @danniellewicks

I’m super shy, but I’d love to talk to you 😀

 

Dannielle Wicks

20 thoughts on “Pitch Wars 2017: #PimpMyBio – Dark and Fractured Seas – YA #ownvoices Fantasy

  1. Ah good luck Danielle – your book sounds fun! (also QLD!!! I lived in Brisbane for 6 months and it was fantastic; I miss it so) I also love Star-Touched Queen. Have you read the sequel yet? Sooo good 🙂 Good luck with Pitch Wars and entering your ms.

  2. Danielle! It’s so good to see you participating in PW! And DAFS sounds amazing! I hope everything is going well with you. Good luck with PW =)

    • Deborah! Ahh 😀 Everything is great! I hope you and yours are keeping safe and happy. Thank you so much for the luck, I’m going to need it. There are so many amazing entrants this year 🙂

  3. I loved everything about this! Your story sounds *so* enjoyable to read and I can’t wait to grab it off the shelf sometime. And your novel aesthetic was really intriguing. I loved this post and hope to get to know you throughout the feed! 🙂

  4. Your MS sounds so good! I really hope you get picked bcos I can’t wait to buy your book if you need anymore eyes on your first ten or synopsis etc. Just let me know!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.